Death be not Proud. . .be strange and funny. . .

I love all things genealogical.  This (in my opinion) includes old newspaper articles, family trees, memoirs, histories, cemeteries and last (but not least) obituaries.  For a lot of us who aren’t particularly religious, death is scary in its finality.  I can only hope to live on in my good deeds, my offspring, or the occasional joke I’ve told.  Or even better, the ridiculous things I have done.  More people are remembered by their mishaps than the good they bestowed upon their fellow man. Poor Bill Clinton — will be remembered by an anecdote involving a cigar.
grandpa

Enough said.  Below is a collection of obituaries that I culled today from online sources, including “Google” and http://www.genealogybank.com

Nebraska Newspaper

Nebraska Newspaper

Strange Obit

Strange Obit

Toni Larroux, R.I.P.  Your kids were lucky to have such a great mother!

Toni Larroux, R.I.P. Your kids were lucky to have such a great mother!

Obituary Writer Made Redundent

Obituary Writer Made Redundant

obit4

from a Kansas Paper (?)

Court Gottfried von Bismarck

Court Gottfried von Bismarck

Carl Ambruster

Carl Ambruster

obit7

Thorpe's Corpse

Thorpe’s Corpse


Bye says it all!

Bye says it all!

3 responses

  1. Is it my imagination, camera angle – or is that woman’s gun aimed right at the gentleman’s head? Wouldn’t THAT be a family legacy!

  2. Hello! You and I must be related. Your post on October 30,2012 has a pix of Madison Britt. I believe what must have been one of the original prints hung in my grandparents dining room until their deaths. As a little girl, i was very intrigued by that portrait. He looked so handsome and i wondered what his life was like. My grandfather was Frank Madison Britt of Eufala and grew up in the home you also showed. His daughter is my mother. Madison Britt was my grandfather’s grandfather. Presently, my son-in-law is doing our ancestry. He has found many interesting things! If we can help you with any info on the Britt’s, we are more than happy to share!

    1. this is very exciting! we are related, my mother was Grace Adele Britt

Leave a Reply

Posts About Dead Relatives

All Gene Pools Need Chlorine

Your Genetic Genealogist

All Gene Pools Need Chlorine

Unclaimed Ancestors

Connecting old photos with the families searching for them.

notsofancynancy

How the hell did I get here?

V.L. Brunskill

writer, reunited adoptee, former music journalist

Ephemeral New York

Chronicling an ever-changing city through faded and forgotten artifacts

Posts About Dead Relatives

All Gene Pools Need Chlorine

openSNP

crowdsourcing genome wide association studies

